6 Month of Sobriety

Peet
4 min readSep 15, 2021

Wow, I still can not believe it ! I did not have an alcoholic drink in 6 month. I gave the booze 1 chance in this time period, but it just strengthened my decision to stay sober.

From time to time I ruminated, if I will be able to stay sober for 6 months and how it will feel when I arrive. Now, that I am here, how does it feel ?

First of all it feels surreal . Before going sober I couldn’t imagine to live without alcohol. It was just out of the question. I needed it to brave up, to have some fun and so on and so forth.

I realize now, it was just a lie to keep on drinking. Now I don’t need alcohol to be brave or to have fun. I just never need alcohol. It really feels liberating to say that.

I can safely say that was one of my biggest accomplishments. I had this click moment and I just knew from the inside I am not drinking anymore. Sometimes I think I fell on exact the right spot on my head, and it changed my brain chemistry. Who knows ?

What did change for the better ?

Self confidence: Since I am sober I trust myself a lot more. I don’t fear small problems or liabilities like I did before. It is just much easier to handle while you have a clean head.

What I love about sobriety is that I am able to feel which situations or thoughts are good for me, and which are not.

For example: If I feel a person, a conversation or a situation is not good for me, I just leave on the spot. I don’t care what somebody thinks or says. I can live with it if somebody doesn’t like me or my lifestyle. While drinking, this was very different. I was dumb down by the drinks and just did not care.

Health, sleep, motion, money

I bet you already red about it. Sober sleep is just beautiful !!

My health improved also, the skin on my face, my mouth and lips are feeling a lot healthier. It is like the blood is flowing a lot better.

My willingness to participate in activities also grew a lot. Meet friends, go on hikes, explore the world. I am up for it !!

A lot of money was saved while staying sober. The best part about it I did not need to work for it. It was saved by abstaining.

Are there downsides ?

I need to think a lot about this, to find some disadvantages. For me there are none.

Don’t get me wrong it was not easy all the time. I was bored out of my mind a lot in the first weeks. Some days were incredibly long, thoughts and emotions were bombarding me. Sometimes it made a knot in my stomach and it was really scary and uncomfortable from time to time.

It got better day by day. Now I am used to experiencing very long days and handling my emotions. It is not that bad after all.

At the end I want to say thank you to everybody who is writing about sobriety and all the people who read my stories. It is really helping along the way. I am really grateful and excited what else life has to offer.

So long my friends cheers and have a nice one.

--

--