I Will Never Drink Again

Can I say that? Can I think that?

Peet
2 min readOct 30, 2021

Never is a very strong word. It is final and irreversible. I had a conversation at a garden party, where I was offered a drink and refused. The host looked at me for a moment, shook his head to shake away the thought, and said “I could never do that.”

Photo by Mitchel Lensink on Unsplash

I could totally feel him, because it was the same for me. Just thinking about going long periods without alcohol, or to quit forever, was too much to swallow. This idea was just to overwhelming.

Never have fun again. Never be spontaneous again. Never just let loose again. Who would do that?

I am sober for over 7 month now, and I know, being certain that I will never drink again is blue-eyed. One thing has changed, I am not afraid of this thought anymore, it doesn’t make me feel uncomfortable. In fact, my eyes start to shine while thinking about the idea of never drinking again. I think my future-self would give me a huge hug if I would be able to pull that off.

We would lay in each others arms and have a deep chat. He would explain his gratefulness to me. Talking about self-love.

We are all worth of love and kindness. So please think about what you do to your mind and your body. Think about how your decisions affect your future- self, and the people around you.

There is a lot of talk about “health is the most important thing”. When I look around me, not a lot of people act up on that. It is hurtful to see, especially when it is about my closest once.

Give yourself some self-love and spit out the toxins. Have a nice Saturday my friends.

--

--