Staying Sober in the Summertime

I have some tests of sobriety ahead of me.

Peet
3 min readJun 16, 2021

Unicorn, unicorn, unicorn. I needed a good start for this story, unfortunately my training for story writing is still in progress.

No thank you, I’d rather just chill.

Speaking about unicorns, the summer has begun here in Germany. The European Cup is going on and COVID is fading away. This is the perfect time to get hammered. But not for me, because I had some troublesome relations with the booze. While everybody has the time of their lives, enjoying the sun, the drinks and the fun. I am laying here on my mattress, starring on the ceiling, thinking about sobriety. (dramatization)

I just realize there are a lot of occasions in the summer, where I would drink. I am curious how the sunny season will be like while staying sober.

The changes and adjustments I am making, became very clear yesterday. I was invited to watch a football match. Usually I would just join the crowd, drink my drinks, watch the game and put my weirdo face on. This time it was different, I am not even interested in football, so why on earth should I watch a football game for 90 minutes. I decided to stay home, stare at my walls and practice abstinence. That was fun..

Tomorrow we will go camping. Typically, camping was like: park the car, get everything arranged and drink, drink, drink. Repeat the next day. It will be exciting to see how I handle it without the dummy for adults.

There are a lot of questions going on in my head. Will I stay sober ? Will I drink? Is it even worth it to stay sober ? Am I overdoing the whole thing ?

Let’s face it, the days of lighthearted youth are over. When you drink too much as an adult, problems are going to show up.

After all this thinking and staring.

I came up with an equation for drinking

1.// drinking + feelings of guilt + consequences = SUFFERING

2.// feelings of missing out + feeling bored sober = SUFFERING

Now I have the beautiful option to choose my suffering. While the second option has better results for my life, I am taking the 2nd.

There are some big changes going on for me, I felt like writing it out. Have a nice summer-time and enjoy your drinks.

--

--